University of Minnesota
University of Minnesota

Industrial and Systems Engineering

Home> Faculty >Gupta

Professor Diwakar Gupta


Ph.D., 1988, Management Sciences, University of Waterloo
M.A.Sc., 1984, Industrial Engineering, University of Windsor
B.Tech, 1982, Mechanical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology, New Delhi

Office: ME 130B - phone: (612) 625-1810


Research focuses on stochastic models for supply chain and health operations management. Specifically, research and consulting interests include supply chain management, healthcare capacity management, payment innovations, and health policy, revenue management in manufacturing and service industries, and design and operational control of manufacturing systems.

Professor Gupta is on assignment at the National Science Foundation, where he serves as a program director for the Service, Manufacturing, and Operations Research program in the division of Civil, Mechanical, and Manufacturing Innovation of the Directorate for Engineering.

Research Laboratory

Selected Publications

Please see Publications page on Scorlab website

Upcoming Seminar

Faculty Search


ISyE professors William L. Cooper and Zizhuo Wang have been awarded an NSF grant of $269,000 for the project "Revenue Management with Network Effects." The project will run from August 2015 to August 2018. Read More...

Dr. Shuzhong Zhang has been awarded a $299,999 grant from The National Science Foundation for his project "Gradient Methods for Solving Big Data (Tensor) Optimization Problems". Read More...

Dr. Zizhuo Wang's paper "Pricing Personalized Bundles: A New Approach and An Empirical Study" was a finalist in this year's INFORMS Revenue Management and Pricing Section Practice Award. Congratulations!

"My undergraduate degree was in math and computer science, and I have a master's degree in computer science," DJ O'Neil said... Read More...

Hao-Wei Chen's paper has been selected as the Best Paper in the IIE Transactions Focused Issue on Scheduling and Logistics for 2015. Read More...

Congratulations Alex Stroh — Rack Manufacturers Institute/John B. Nofsinger Honor Scholarship winner. Read More...